Session 9: Assessment and Survey

El Carmelo Retreat House- Redlands, California

El Carmelo Retreat House- Redlands, California

Survey creation and process:

I have created a survey to be administered at the introduction of the course I am designing. I have decided to use Google Forms since the platform I will use for the course is Google+ and because I am familiar with Forms. I like Forms because the data is then organized into a Spreadsheet so I could easily analyze participant responses. I used open-ended survey questions and gave instructions at the start of the survey.

http://goo.gl/forms/aJVZt6yHJs

Rubric creation and process:

The course that I am designing isn’t designed to have a pass/fail aspect, rather a complete/incomplete. The weekly assigned tasks will be similar across all sessions of the course. Participants will look at a scenario in which they are faced with a question pertaining to their faith. They will be given course material in various forms that would give some background on what their church says about each topic. The assignment is to then locate other sources to formulate their own responses to the questions in the scenarios. The rubric I have designed is not as involved as the rubrics I have designed for my sixth grade students, which include scores for writing mechanics and grammar. Rather than having a point system, I have designed a yes/no type of a rubric; with 3 out of 4 yes marks being the minimum for session completion. Participants may add to their initial work in order to earn a higher score at any point in the course.

Here is the link to the PDF in Google Docs: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By1Vd1anwqBebkRRODVNQ1lldnc/view?usp=sharing

Final Project Progress:

I have done a lot of preparation for this project. Last weekend, I was actually at a retreat so I was able to speak to some experts while I was there. One of the friars is actually teaching an undergrad theology course online for the first time, so we were able to share some tips with one another. He actually gave me some great points to focus on for the course I’m designing and more or less the format for participant output. This course has not been difficult to create as far as outlining the course material. The major challenge for me was developing the means to which participants would demonstrate their new knowledge.

2015-03-07 22.28.00

Aside from my research in andragogy, I have also obtained rich content material. I found a book called The Social Media Gospel by Meredith Gould (whom I now follow on Twitter). Her text covers the various social media that could be used in faith formation and how each one functions. I also found a new resource: YouCat. It is a youth version of the Catechism of the Catholic Church, which after the bible, is the most valuable resource for members of that faith group. It is laid out in the original text, with annotations explaining what the rich text means. I also purchased the study guide because it has valuable questions that go along with the text. I asked about copyright laws because I didn’t find any copyright material in the study guide. I would like to use some of the questions in that book, but might need to contact Igantius Press before doing so. That’s a bridge I will cross when I get closer to fully developing this course!

Lastly, I have spoken to a young adults core member from St. Paul the Apostle parish in Chino Hills. We had a conversation about the various groups within that age group (18-39) and how some on the older end of the spectrum really need something a bit different than those on the younger end. My initial idea was for this course to be geared towards RCIA participants who have been recently baptized and confirmed. Now, I am thinking this could also be opened up towards a young adults group. The core member is willing to work with me in order to make this course outline come to life in the near future.

About Margarita

This is my second year as a graduate student at CSUSB. I have taught in the Riverside Unified School District for eleven years. The Instructional Technology program has been extremely beneficial to my professional development as it has helped me use innovative ways in providing instruction an support to my sixth graders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Session 9: Assessment and Survey

  1. Hi Margarita,
    I’m wondering if the people enrolled in your course will feel funny answering the questions as they are personal. Is it anonymous or can you tell who submitted a specific response. I think I would feel funny responding to some of the questions in the survey.
    I really like the book: YouCat. I can’t wait to hear more about this resource or perhaps I’ll check it out after next week, since we will have more time.
    Guillermina

    Like

    • Margarita says:

      Hi Guillermina,
      I actually thought about adding a “name” question so I could keep track of participant responses. I don’t expect participants to feel awkward about responding to the questions because they have been preparing for their sacrament of baptism/confirmation together for a year and are used to these types of reflection questions in their f2f courses. Maybe it would be too much to probe participants who have not attended any type of class such as this one…at least at the beginning. In most faith-formation courses I’ve attended, it is the norm to actually have these types of questions as discussion topics in small groups. I think it’s because of the nature of the course.
      I would be willing to share the YouCat materials with you, too!!

      Like

  2. Hi Margarita,

    I’m really interested in Google docs for the survey- nice work. I wondered the same thing about whether or not responses could be anonymous? Also, is the instructor’s response spreadsheet something that gets updated immediately as students respond? In other words, could I have the responses on the board in class and use it as a poll during discussions? Thanks, Christen

    Like

    • Margarita says:

      Hi Christen,
      When using Forms, the doc owner actually gets the feedback once the survey has been submitted. I’ve used it in my F2F sixth grade class when giving vocab quizzes and it’s awesome because I can see who is finished right away. Also all of the responses are on one sheet so I can print and grade on one sheet, too:)

      Like

    • gcaudill says:

      Hi Christen,
      One other thing you can do is actually select an option so that students have access to the results. We’ve used that option when we give students choices and they want to find out which of their choices they were assigned for a project. For example, we are working on an Ancient Greece Wax Museum and students submitted their first, second, and third choices for the ancient Greek that they wanted to study.
      Griselda

      Like

  3. ngl8on says:

    Hi Margarita,

    I tend to agree with our other classmates, about the anonymous part of the survey. I think we, as instructors, get more and honest comments, when the students do not have to include their names. I give an end of class survey, in all my classes, and I find they are very educational for me. I get asked if by students if they need to add their name, and I say no. A few do, because they want too, but the majority do not.

    I also liked that you are now thinking about the differences in the ages, that you are having to deal with. A very mixed age group can be a huge challenge, and it can be very gratifying, at the same time. In my college classes, I have had students go from about age 20 into their 60s or 70s (this is rare). Many students are in their 30s, 40s and even into their 50s. The more experienced students, tend to mentor the younger or less experienced students. This sometimes does not work, because the young think they know everything! Sometimes the young help older students learn about new technologies. It is an interesting time to be able to observe.

    Good luck on your project
    Nita

    Like

    • Margarita says:

      Hi Nita,
      Thank you so much for your input. I appreciate you sharing your experience with student surveys. So far, the survey is anonymous as is. I have gone back and forth about keeping it that way. Maybe I could take a middle road and make including the participant name as an option.

      Like

  4. lgersitz says:

    I like the look of your survey! You seem to know a lot about Google forms and can really customize yours. I’m just learning and you provide me with great models. Thanks!!

    Like

  5. gcaudill says:

    Hi Margarita,
    Great job on your Google Form. I was looking at some extensions that are available as add-ons to Forms, but I really couldn’t figure out one that I needed. Do you think that the participants in your course would be more engaged in an online discussion?
    Griselda

    Like

  6. edtechy says:

    The nature of your project dictates the structure of the survey and the rubric. I almost wonder if you might want to use descriptors rather than numbers. Something like, Basic, Forming, Fully Developed or something like that.

    Like

  7. Margarita says:

    That is another aspect I keep going back and forth with for this project, Dr. Newberry. I think I will use descriptors rather than scores! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

